1. 2012 Lukas Prize Project Awards Announced

    Awards March 16, 2012

    Columbia Journalism School and the Nieman Foundation have named the winners of the 2012 Lukas Prize Project Awards. Vanderbilt University law professor Daniel Sharfstein has won the 2012 J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize for The Invisible Line: Three American Families and the Secret Journey from Black to White." The Mark Lynton History Prize goes to Sophia Rosenfeld, a University of Virginia professor, for Common Sense: A Political History. And Jonathan M. Katz, a former AP reporter and editor, is winner of the J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award for The Big Truck That Went By: How the World Came to Save Haiti and Left Behind a Disaster." Read more

  2. Nieman Foundation to host Gay Talese, Chris Jones

    Talks November 15, 2011

    The Nieman Foundation, in partnership with the Harvard Writers at Work Lecture Series, will host narrative journalism icon Gay Talese in conversation with Esquire magazine’s Chris Jones, two-time winner of the National Magazine Award. The Nov. 18 event starts at 2 p.m. in Fong Auditorium, Boylston Hall, and is free and open to the public. Read more

  3. 2011 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence

    Awards October 4, 2011

    Journalism is a powerful tool in society. At its best, journalism has the power to expose corruption, restore justice, and spur societal reform. Too often, however, a journalist’s work is adulterated with other motives: the desire to please a boss, get their story on the front page, get a promotion or make friends in the business. Read more

  4. Nieman Curator Bob Giles reflects on his time at Harvard

    News July 14, 2011

    Nieman Foundation curator Bob Giles retired at the end of June after 11 years on the job. During his tenure, he found new ways to strengthen the Nieman Fellowship program and expand the foundation’s critical role in discussions about the future of serious journalism. Giles recently reflected on his time at Harvard and began by describing what it has been like to lead the Nieman Foundation for more than a decade. Read more

  5. Investigative Reporter A.C. Thompson Wins the 2011 I.F. Stone Medal

    Awards June 14, 2011

    A.C. Thompson, a staff reporter for ProPublica whose work frequently exposes social injustice and the abuse of power, is winner of the 2011 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence. The Nieman Foundation will present the award at Boston University on October 4, 2011, during a ceremony co-hosted by BU’s College of Communication. Read more

  6. The Value of the Nieman Experience

    News April 16, 2011

    Nieman curator Bob Giles writes about “The Value of the Nieman Fellows’ Experience” in the Spring 2011 issue of Nieman Reports. His comments about the 50th anniversary of the South African Nieman Fellowship prompted R.C. Smith, NF ’61, to reflect on his own Nieman year. Read more

  7. 2010 Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism

    Awards April 14, 2011

    It's a great pleasure for me to welcome you to the 44th presentation of the Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism. The Nieman Foundation is extremely pleased to have been invited to serve as steward of this important prize in partnership with the family of Worth Bingham and to hold the ceremony here at Walter Lippmann House. Read more

  8. Columbia, Nieman Foundation announce winners of the 2011 Lukas Prize Project

    Awards March 30, 2011

    The recipients of the 2011 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards for exceptional nonfiction include authors Eliza Griswold (a 2007 Nieman Fellow), Isabel Wilkerson and Alex Tizon. The awards will be presented on Tuesday, May 3, at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism in New York. The Journalism School and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard co-administer the awards. Read more