Nieman News

Winners and finalists of three of the Nieman Foundation's 2023 journalism awards stand outside Lippmann House at Harvard University

From left: Nieman journalism award winners and finalists Manny García, Jodi S. Cohen, Jennifer Smith Richards, Wendi C. Thomas, Brett Murphy, Raquel Rutledge. NF '12, and Tony Plohetski at Lippmann House, May 5, 2023.

During a ceremony at Walter Lippmann House at Harvard University on May 5, 2023, the Nieman Foundation presented three of its annual journalism awards to the 2023 winners and finalists. Award recipients from the three previous years, who had been unable to receive their certificates in person due to COVID-19 restrictions, also attended and were recognized for their exceptional achievements.

The 2023 Winners:

After the awards were presented, Wendi C. Thomas, Tony Plohetski, and Jennifer Smith Richards spoke with moderator Jasmine Brown about their work. Brown is a senior producer for ABC’s “World News Tonight with David Muir,” a member of the I.F. Stone Medal Selection Committee and a 2020 Nieman Fellow.