Nieman News

Logo for the 2024 Campaign Journalism Conference sponsored by The University of Chicago Institute of Politics and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism

CHICAGO –The University of Chicago Institute of Politics (IOP) and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard announce the 2024 Campaign Journalism Conference for reporters covering the 2024 races for control of state legislatures, Congress and the White House. The conference will take place in Chicago April 26-27, 2023.

During the intensive two-day boot camp, leading political consultants, academics and veteran journalists from across the U.S. will share their expertise to help journalists at small, medium and large outlets learn the practical tools and skills necessary to effectively cover political campaigns as well as local and national elections and that are increasingly becoming more complex.

Much is at stake ahead of the 2024 elections. Journalists now must often cover stories about voter suppression, disinformation, unreliable polling and election deniers. In response, topics covered at the conference will include election laws, distrust in election results, life on the trail, poll reliability, data analytics and more.

The conference is free to journalists, but registration is required and space is limited. Applications will remain open until March 28, 2023. Journalists whose news outlets are not able to pay travel costs may apply for a travel stipend. More information about how to apply, the conference agenda and a list of speakers, is available on the website.

Announcing the conference, Institute of Politics director Heidi Heitkamp said: “A fair and well-equipped press is among the most powerful tools we have in our democracy. Good citizenship is dependent on the press going beyond typical horserace campaign coverage and delivering clear, accurate reporting on the candidates and the issues.”

Nieman Foundation curator Ann Marie Lipinski added: “Credible and robust coverage of these elections is of vital importance to the nation and to fortifying voters’ trust in journalism. Convening this broad collective of journalists and political experts for this two-day intensive is an investment in that essential mission.”

This is the third collaboration between the University of Chicago IOP and the Nieman Foundation designed to provide journalists with the tools they need to report on election issues that matter.

Confirmed speakers include:

  • Tim Alberta, The Atlantic
  • David Axelrod, The University of Chicago (IOP’s founding director)
  • Stacy Barchenger, Arizona Republic
  • Jocelyn Benson, Michigan’s Secretary of State
  • Tom Bonier, Target Smart
  • Sarah Bryner, OpenSecrets
  • Ana Ceballos, Miami Herald
  • David Chalian, CNN
  • Kaitlan Collins, CNN
  • McKay Coppins, The Atlantic
  • John Dickerson, CBS
  • Marc Elias, Elias Law Group
  • Brenda Gianiny, Axis Research
  • Ben Ginsberg, Hoover Institution & Election Official Legal Defense Network
  • Astead W. Herndon, The New York Times
  • Asma Khalid, NPR
  • Anna Massoglia, OpenSecrets
  • Tom Perez, Former DNC Chair
  • Reince Priebus, former RNC Chair
  • Jon Ralston, The Nevada Independent
  • Elyse Samuels, The Washington Post
  • Sabrina Siddiqui, The Wall Street Journal
  • Erin Simpson, Ford Foundation
  • Lis Smith, Democratic Strategist
  • Lynn Sweet, Chicago Tribune
  • Tresa Undem, PerryUndem
  • Alexa Ura, Texas Tribune
  • Matt Viser, The Washington Post
  • Jeff Zeleny, CNN

About the University of Chicago Institute of Politics

The nonpartisan Institute of Politics is committed to fostering in our students a passion for public service, meaningful dialogue and active engagement in our democracy.

About The Nieman Foundation for Journalism

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard houses a dynamic set of initiatives to promote and elevate the standards of journalism and educate and support those poised to make important contributions to its future. Nieman does this through fellowship programs, online and print publications, and programming that convenes some of the leading thinkers of our time.