Nieman News

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, has announced the election of 204 new members, including Nieman curator Ann Marie Lipinski, NF ’90, and a number of others in the Harvard community. Among those chosen are Harvard professors Jill Lepore, a noted historian and writer for The New Yorker, and Raj Chetty, one of the world’s foremost economists, both popular Nieman seminar speakers.

The 2014 class — which also includes journalist and author Annie Proulx, novelist and screenwriter John Irving, director and actor Al Pacino and sociologist Sherry Turkle — will be inducted at a ceremony on October 11 at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass. Members of the Academy are some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, writers, scientists, artists and civic and business leaders.

Learn more about the new members »

Show comments / Leave a comment