Nieman News

The work of a number of Nieman Fellows has been recognized recently with national journalism awards.

  • Hui Siu Fun, NF ’11, is among 38 recipients of the 71st Annual Peabody Awards. She was honored for “Misjudged Cases,” a documentary featured on the Hong Kong-based News Magazine (TVB Jade Channel) dealing with unjust arrests and prosecutions. The Peabodys, the oldest awards in broadcasting, recognize excellence and meritorious work by radio and television stations, networks, webcasters, producing organizations and individuals.
  • The 78th National Headliner Award-winners include Anja Niedringhaus, NF ’07 (First place: Magazines, news services or syndicates spot news photography); Stuart Watson, NF ’08 (Second place: Broadcast or cable television stations public service); and David Molpus, NF ’00 (Third place: Broadcast or cable television stations public service). Founded in 1934 by the Press Club of Atlantic City, the National Headliner Awards recognize journalistic merit in the communications industry.
  • David Jackson, NF ’09, and his colleague Gary Marx, investigative reporters at the Chicago Tribune, are the co-winners of the 2011 Medill Medal for Courage in Journalism for their series, “Across the Border, Beyond the Law: Flaws in the justice system help fugitives cross America’s borders and avoid capture.” The Medill Medal is awarded by Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications.
  • The American Society of News Editors has selected the staff of The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, including columnist James Causey, NF ’08, for its annual Online Storytelling Award. ASNE recognized the paper “for employing a variety of online tools and multimedia to add depth to the tremendous reporting on infant mortality in Milwaukee.” Read the Journal Sentinel’s  Empty Cradles series.
  • IRE has also announced its 2011 awards, bestowing the award in the print/online-medium category to Ken Armstrong, NF ’01, and his colleague Michael J. Berens at The Seattle Times for “Methadone and the Politics of Pain.” The series also won the Selden Ring Award. In IRE’s multiplatform-large category, 2012 Nieman Fellow Kristen Lombardi and her colleagues at The Center for Public Integrity were selected as finalists for “Poisoned Places: Toxic Air, Neglected Communities” while Milwaukee Journal Sentinel reporter John Diedrich, a 2012 Nieman Affiliate, was named a finalist for IRE’s Tom Renner Award for his “Dangerous & Free” series.
  • Elsewhere, Melissa Ludtke, NF ’92, was one of a number of  leading journalists nominated for NYU’s “Top 100 Journalists of the Past 100 Years” list. UNITY, Journalists of Color, released its own list of top journalists of the past century, including Cecilia Alvear, NF ’89, Nieman Advisory Board member Carolyn Curiel, Conroy Chino, NF ’84, Frank del Olmo, NF ’88, Renee Ferguson, NF ’07, Tim Giago, NF ’91, Alma Guillermoprieto, NF ’05, Robert Maynard, NF ’66, Deb Price, NF ’11, Frank Sotomayor, NF ’86, Juan Tamayo, NF ’90 and Nuri Vallbona, NF ’01.
  • In May, Lisa Mullins, NF ’10, will receive a Gracie Award, which honors women in broadcasting, in the category of outstanding anchor in news or a news magazine. Mullins is co-anchor for the international news magazine “The World,” which is produced by the BBC, Public Radio International and WGBH. The program is broadcast weekdays on more than 300 radio stations and is podcast on the Web.
  • The Association of Health Care Journalists has announced its annual awards. In the investigative (large) category, Raquel Rutledge, NF’ 12,  and John Diedrich, a 2012 Nieman Affiliate, were part of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel team that won first place for “Shattered Trust,” which investigated contaminated disposable wipes. Kristen Lombardi, NF ’12, and her colleagues at the Center for Public Integrity and NPR were recognized in second place in the health policy category for “Poisoned Places: Toxic Air, Neglected Communi­ties.”
Show comments / Leave a comment