Nieman News

Documentary filmmaker Michael Kirk, NF ’80, who produced 60 Frontline investigations and won two Peabody awards, was selected to receive the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication’s First Amendment Award at its conference in August. Former New York Times columnist and two-time Pulitzer winner Anthony Lewis, NF ’57, will be given the Louis P. and Evelyn Smith First Amendment Award from the Ford Hall Forum at Suffolk University in Boston this month.

More about Michael Kirk:
Award-winning producer and documentary filmmaker Michael Kirk has produced more than 200 national television programs. He was also the senior producer of Frontline from the series’ inception in 1983 until the fall of 1987.

Kirk has won every major award in journalism, including the Peabody Award, duPont-Columbia Award, 10 Emmys and six Writers Guild of America Awards. He also owns a production company, the Kirk Documentary Group.
(From Frontline)

More about Anthony Lewis:
Anthony Lewis won the Pulitzer Prize for National Reporting in 1955 when he was a reporter for the Washington Daily News. It was for a series of articles he wrote about Abraham Chasanow, a Navy employee who was dismissed as a security risk without being told the nature or source of the charges against him. Lewis’s reporting led to Chasanow’s reinstatement.

He won a second Pulitzer, also for national reporting, in 1963 during his 50 years at The New York Times. That one was for his coverage of the U.S. Supreme Court, especially the court’s decision on reapportionment and its consequences for many states.

Lewis is the author of five books, including “Freedom for the Thought That We Hate: A Biography of the First Amendment” and “Make No Law: The Sullivan Case and the First Amendment.”
(From Nieman Notes, Spring 2011)

Show comments / Leave a comment