Nieman News

Four Nieman Fellows were among those honored with awards by the Overseas Press Club award program.

  • Jeb Sharp, a 2006 Nieman Fellow, and Patrick Cox of PRI’s The World, received the Lowell Thomas Award for best radio news or interpretation of international affairs for their five-part investigative series “How Wars End”.
  • Dexter Filkins, a 2007 Nieman Fellow, received the Cornelius Ryan Award for best non-fiction book on international affairs for his book The Forever War. Filkins also received a citation for the Ed Cunningham Award for best magazine reporting from abroad for his New York Times Magazine article “Right at the Edge”.
  • Amy Goldstein, a 2005 Nieman Fellow, and colleague Dana Priest of The Washington Post, received the Joe and Laurie Dine Award for Best international reporting in any medium dealing with human rights for their series “Careless Detention”.
  • Alma Guillermoprieto, a 2005 Nieman Fellow, received the Robert Spiers Benjamin Award for best reporting in any medium on Latin America for her article “Days of the Dead: The New Narcocultura” in The New Yorker

Founded in 1939, The Overseas Press Club seeks to maintain an international association of journalists working in the United States and abroad; to encourage the highest standards of professional integrity and skill in the reporting of news; to help educate a new generation of journalists; to contribute to the freedom and independence of journalists and the press throughout the world, and to work toward better communication and understanding among people.

Show comments / Leave a comment