Nieman News

The 2009 Pulitzer Awards were announced Monday, April 20, and three Nieman Fellows were among those honored: Eugene Robinson, Amy Nutt, and Amy Goldstein.

  • Commentary: Eugene Robinson of The Washington Post for his eloquent columns on the 2008 presidential campaign that focus on the election of the first African-American president, showcasing graceful writing and grasp of the larger historic picture. He was a 1988 Nieman Fellow.
  • Feature Writing, finalist: Amy Ellis Nutt of The Star-Ledger, Newark, N.J., for her poignant, deeply reported story of a chiropractor who suffered a severe stroke following brain surgery and became a wildly creative artist, in many ways estranged from his former self. She was a 2005 Nieman Fellow. Read “Jon Sarkin: The Accidental Artist”
  • National Reporting, finalist: Amy Goldstein and Dana Priest of The Washington Post for their relentless exploration of America’s network of immigration detention centers, melding reporting and computer analysis to expose sometimes deadly abuses and spur corrective steps. Goldstein was a 2005 Nieman Fellow. Read the series “Careless Detention: Medical Treatment of Immigrants”

See a list of Nieman Pulitzer winners throughout the years

Show comments / Leave a comment