Nieman News

Five Nieman Fellows were among the 2008 recipients of the National Association of Black Journalists’ Salute to Excellence Awards. The annual awards recognize exemplary coverage of the African and African-American experience by the nation’s print and electronic media.

Mary C. Curtis,
Class of 2006, Tommy Tomlinson, Class of 2009, and Charlotte Observer colleague Eric Frazier for the newspaper series “50 Years After Integration.”

Derrick Z. Jackson, Class of 1984, for his column in The Boston Globe.

Bryan Monroe, Class of 2003, and Ebony staff for the commentary/essay

Ju-Don Roberts, Class of 2004, and Washington Post colleagues Liz Heron and Nelson Hsu for their online project “Fixing D.C.’s Schools.”

Show comments / Leave a comment