Browse Archives

By Date

Los Angeles Times wins Bingham Prize for “Billions to Spend”

Awards March 9, 2012

The Los Angeles Times has won the Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism for its six-part series “Billions to Spend.” During an 18-month investigation, the paper found that a $5.7 billion program to rebuild nine community colleges in Los Angeles was plagued with serious problems including mismanagement and reckless spending that wasted tens of millions of dollars and betrayed the public’s trust. Read more

The News & Observer wins Taylor Family Award

Awards March 2, 2012

The News & Observer of Raleigh, N.C., has won the 2011 Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers for “Twisted Truth: A Prosecutor Under Fire,” a three-part series reported by J. Andrew Curliss about prosecutorial misconduct by Durham’s district attorney Tracey Cline. Read more

Ann Curry to Deliver the 2012 Joe Alex Morris Jr. Lecture

Awards January 30, 2012

Ann Curry, co-anchor of NBC News’ “Today” program, will deliver the 31st annual Joe Alex Morris Jr. Memorial Lecture on February 2, 2012. Each year, the Morris Lecture honors an American overseas correspondent or commentator on foreign affairs who is invited to deliver a talk on international reporting. Read more

Mohammed Nabbous Receives Lyons Award

Awards November 18, 2011

Nieman Fellows at Harvard University have selected Mohammed “Mo” Nabbous, founder of Libya Alhurra TV, as this year’s recipient of the Louis M. Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism. Nabbous, who was killed in March, was chosen as a representative of all those who courageously worked to disseminate news during the Arab Spring. Read more

Not depending on the authorities to tell the story

Awards October 7, 2011

A.C. Thompson received the 2011 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence on Oct. 4 at Boston University. Thompson is a staff reporter for ProPublica whose work frequently exposes social injustice and the abuse of power. His reporting on events in the immediate aftermath of Hurricane Katrina was critical to the uncovering of a string of racially motivated killings of unarmed civilians by New Orleans police officers. He recently spoke with Nieman Watchdog about criminal justice reporting. Read more

Investigative Reporter A.C. Thompson Wins the 2011 I.F. Stone Medal

Awards June 14, 2011

A.C. Thompson, a staff reporter for ProPublica whose work frequently exposes social injustice and the abuse of power, is winner of the 2011 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence. The Nieman Foundation will present the award at Boston University on October 4, 2011, during a ceremony co-hosted by BU’s College of Communication. Read more

Columbia, Nieman Foundation announce winners of the 2011 Lukas Prize Project

Awards March 30, 2011

The recipients of the 2011 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards for exceptional nonfiction include authors Eliza Griswold (a 2007 Nieman Fellow), Isabel Wilkerson and Alex Tizon. The awards will be presented on Tuesday, May 3, at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism in New York. The Journalism School and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard co-administer the awards. Read more

Michael J. Berens wins Worth Bingham Prize for “Seniors for Sale”

Awards March 15, 2011

Reporter Michael J. Berens of The Seattle Times is winner of the 2010 Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism for his comprehensive six-part series “Seniors for Sale: Exploiting the aged and frail in Washington’s adult family homes.” The $20,000 Bingham Prize will be presented at the Nieman Foundation on April 14, 2011. Read more