Browse Archives

By Date

Sheri Fink, Jill Lepore and Adrienne Berard Are Named Winners of the 2014 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards

Awards April 9, 2014

Columbia Journalism School and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University today announced the three winners of the Lukas Prize Project Awards. Sheri Fink, a Pulitzer Prize-winning author, has won the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize for her investigation of patient deaths at a New Orleans hospital in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. Jill Lepore, a prolific author and Harvard University professor who combines her interests in historical research, language and literature, will receive the Mark Lynton History Prize for her biography of Jane Franklin Mecom. Reporter and writer Adrienne Berard has won the J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award for her book about the untold story of the first fight for desegregation in Southern schools. Read more

The Sacramento Bee’s “Nevada Patient Busing” series wins Bingham Prize

Awards March 24, 2014

The Sacramento Bee has won the 2013 Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism for its five-part series Nevada Patient Busing. The Bee’s investigation found that over the course of five years, the Rawson-Neal Psychiatric Hospital in Las Vegas transported more than 1,500 mentally ill patients out of Nevada by bus, sending at least one person to every state in the continental United States. A third of those patients were sent to California. Read more

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel wins Taylor Family Award with “Deadly Delays”

Awards February 28, 2014

The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel has won the Nieman Foundation’s 2013 Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers for Deadly Delays. The comprehensive watchdog investigation reveals how delays in newborn screening programs at hospitals across the country have put babies at risk of disability and death from rare diseases often treatable when caught and treated early. Read more

Pamela Colloff accepts 2014 Lyons Award

Awards February 20, 2014

Speaking recently at the Nieman Foundation, Pamela Colloff, winner of the Louis Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism, offered a confession: “I love reporting. I hate writing.” Why then does the executive editor at the Texas Monthly do what she does? Because, she explains, “one event can shatter lives.” Read more

Jane Mayer wins the 2013 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence

Awards August 27, 2013

Investigative journalist, author and New Yorker staff writer Jane Mayer has been selected as winner of the 2013 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence. The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard will present the award on Sept. 28, 2013, during the foundation’s 75th anniversary weekend in Cambridge, Mass. Read more

2013 Lukas Awards go to Niemans

Awards April 18, 2013

Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer Robert Caro, NF ’66, reporter Beth Macy, NF’10, and author Andrew Solomon are winners of the 2013 Lukas Prize Project Awards, honoring the best in American nonfiction writing. Read more

Chicago Tribune wins Taylor Family Award with “Playing with Fire”

Awards March 5, 2013

The Chicago Tribune has won the Nieman Foundation’s 2012 Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers for “Playing with Fire.” The six-part series revealed how the chemical and tobacco industries for years misled the public with deceptive campaigns that promoted the use of toxic flame-retardant chemicals that don’t work and pose serious health risks to consumers. Read more

Mexican journalist Marcela Turati wins Lyons Award

Awards December 13, 2012

The Nieman Fellows at Harvard University have selected Marcela Turati of the Mexican newsmagazine Proceso as this year’s recipient of the Louis M. Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism. Turati was chosen for her coverage of the drug war and her role in protecting and training members of the media. She is a standard-bearer for the journalists who have risked their lives to document the devastating wave of violence in Mexico. Read more