Browse Archives

By Date

Jenny Nordberg, Harold Holzer and Dan Egan Win the 2015 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards

Awards April 2, 2015

The recipients of the 2015 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards include groundbreaking reporting on bacha posh, the practice of girls raised as boys in Afghanistan, by Jenny Nordberg; a revealing account of Abraham Lincoln’s complex relationship with the press by Harold Holzer; and an eye-opening work by Dan Egan investigating how invasive species have threatened the existence of the Great Lakes. Read more

The Miami Herald’s “Innocents Lost” series wins Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism

Awards April 1, 2015

The Miami Herald’s meticulously researched and reported “Innocents Lost” series, which examines the deaths of hundreds of children in Florida, has won the 2014 Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism. The Herald’s I-Team explored how 477 children died over a six year period, victims not only of abusive or neglectful caregivers but of a flawed Florida child welfare system. The deaths occurred as Florida reduced the number of children in foster care at the same time it cut services for troubled families. Read more

Turkish journalist Hasan Cemal wins Louis M. Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism at Harvard

Awards December 16, 2014

Nieman Fellows in the class of 2015 have selected prominent Turkish journalist and writer Hasan Cemal as this year’s recipient of the Louis M. Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism. Cemal was chosen in recognition of a long career dedicated to championing freedom of the press in Turkey and as a representative of all Turkish journalists working today under increasingly difficult conditions. Read more

Sheri Fink, Jill Lepore and Adrienne Berard Are Named Winners of the 2014 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards

Awards April 9, 2014

Columbia Journalism School and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University today announced the three winners of the Lukas Prize Project Awards. Sheri Fink, a Pulitzer Prize-winning author, has won the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize for her investigation of patient deaths at a New Orleans hospital in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. Jill Lepore, a prolific author and Harvard University professor who combines her interests in historical research, language and literature, will receive the Mark Lynton History Prize for her biography of Jane Franklin Mecom. Reporter and writer Adrienne Berard has won the J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award for her book about the untold story of the first fight for desegregation in Southern schools. Read more

The Sacramento Bee’s “Nevada Patient Busing” series wins Bingham Prize

Awards March 24, 2014

The Sacramento Bee has won the 2013 Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism for its five-part series Nevada Patient Busing. The Bee’s investigation found that over the course of five years, the Rawson-Neal Psychiatric Hospital in Las Vegas transported more than 1,500 mentally ill patients out of Nevada by bus, sending at least one person to every state in the continental United States. A third of those patients were sent to California. Read more

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel wins Taylor Family Award with “Deadly Delays”

Awards February 28, 2014

The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel has won the Nieman Foundation’s 2013 Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers for Deadly Delays. The comprehensive watchdog investigation reveals how delays in newborn screening programs at hospitals across the country have put babies at risk of disability and death from rare diseases often treatable when caught and treated early. Read more