2013 Joe Alex Morris Jr. Memorial Lecture

Awards November 12, 2013

In the weeks before Evan Osnos delivered the 2013 Joe Alex Morris Jr. Memorial Lecture at the Nieman Foundation, the problems facing journalists in China were prominent in the news: veteran correspondent Paul Mooney, who has written many hard-hitting stories about human rights abuses, had his resident journalist visa renewal request denied, and a recent New York Times report detailed charges that Bloomberg News withheld a story out of concern that it might upset Chinese leaders. Read more

2013 Louis Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism

Awards March 7, 2013

Learn more about Marcela Turati, a reporter for the Mexican news magazine, Proceso and winner of the Louis Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism. The Nieman class of 2013 chose to honor Turati for her courageous coverage of the drug war in Mexico and her efforts to protect and train members of the media in a dangerous reporting environment. Read more

2011 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence

Awards October 4, 2011

Journalism is a powerful tool in society. At its best, journalism has the power to expose corruption, restore justice, and spur societal reform. Too often, however, a journalist’s work is adulterated with other motives: the desire to please a boss, get their story on the front page, get a promotion or make friends in the business. Read more

2010 Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism

Awards April 14, 2011

It's a great pleasure for me to welcome you to the 44th presentation of the Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism. The Nieman Foundation is extremely pleased to have been invited to serve as steward of this important prize in partnership with the family of Worth Bingham and to hold the ceremony here at Walter Lippmann House. Read more