Banner Image for I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence
2018 I.F. Stone Medal recipient Charles Lewis with Florence Graves. Lisa Abitbol

Awards & Conferences

I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence

2018 Winner

Charles Lewis

Charles Lewis

Veteran journalist and author Charles Lewis is winner of the 2018 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence, selected in recognition of his unceasing efforts to strengthen and support the work of investigative journalists in the U.S. and abroad.

Announcing the award, Florence Graves, chair of the I.F. Stone Medal selection committee said: “For nearly four decades, Chuck Lewis has led the reporting of groundbreaking journalism to uncover government corruption, cronyism cover-ups and crimes. A pioneer in nonprofit news, he has worked tirelessly to raise funds to help others do the same and to protect the independence of their work, free from the constraints of news organizations beholden to special interests. His important work carries on the proud tradition of I.F. Stone, speaking truth to power, and prompting fact-finding hearings and vital reforms.”

About the Award

Established in 2008, the I.F. Stone Medal recognizes journalistic independence and honors the life of investigative journalist I.F. Stone.

The award is presented annually to a journalist whose work captures the spirit of independence, integrity, courage and indefatigability that characterized I.F. Stone’s Weekly, published from 1953 to 1971.

An advisory committee of journalists oversees nominations and the selection of an annual medal winner. The committee is chaired by Florence Graves, founding director of the Schuster Institute for Investigative Journalism at Brandeis University.

About I.F. Stone

Journalist I.F. Stone’s passion for speaking his mind incurred the wrath of the powerful. His opposition to Sen. Joseph McCarthy and his determination to expose the excesses of J. Edgar Hoover’s FBI led to attacks on his credibility and reputation during the McCarthy Era in the early 1950s.

The I.F. Stone Medal bears a likeness of an issue of I.F. Stone’s Weekly with a headline on the Tonkin Gulf affair, ‘All We Really Know Is That We Fired The First Shots.’ (PDF)

Stone was one of only a few journalists who reported on the U.S. government’s false allegations that the North Vietnamese had attacked a U.S. destroyer in 1964, the claim President Johnson used to persuade the Senate to approve the Tonkin Gulf Resolution, which ultimately paved the way for the country to enter the Vietnam War.


Charles Lewis
Victor S. Navasky
Robert Parry
Laura Poitras
Amy Goodman
Jane Mayer
Sandy Close
A.C. Thompson
Carly Gelsinger
Craig R. McCoy
James Robinson
Jon Alpert
Russ Choma
John Walcott