Banner Image for Awards & Conferences
2016 Joe Alex Morris Jr. lecturer Kathleen Carroll

Awards & Conferences

The Nieman Foundation presents annual journalism awards to news organizations and journalists who have produced exceptional work in several categories. By honoring journalistic excellence, the foundation aims to draw attention to innovative research, reporting and storytelling and share the lessons learned from in-depth – sometimes risky – reporting projects.

College journalists participate in a workshop led by Nieman Fellows Stephen Maher and Wendi C. Thomas during the 2016 Georges Conference.

College journalists participate in a workshop led by Nieman Fellows Stephen Maher and Wendi C. Thomas during the 2016 Georges Conference.

Each year, Nieman award recipients join a long list of previous winners who have produced groundbreaking work in print, on air and online.

During the 2015-2016 academic year, honorees included Chinese journalist and author Yang Jisheng, who received the Louis M. Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism in recognition of work that speaks to the efforts of every journalist globally who faces enormous obstacles in reporting; the Tampa Bay Times, winner of the Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism for its “Failure Factories” series that revealed how district leaders in Florida’s Pinellas County transformed five elementary schools into some of the worst in the state through resegregation and intentional neglect; and Kathleen Carroll, executive editor and senior vice president of The Associated Press, who discussed the importance of international reporting during the 2016 Joe Alex Morris Jr. Memorial Lecture.

Other award winners were investigative reporter Robert Parry, who was selected for the I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence; The Associated Press, winner of the Taylor Family Award for Fairness in Newspapers for its trailblazing series “Seafood From Slaves,” which exposed the abusive and inhumane practices common in Southeast Asia’s fishing industry; and the Lukas Prize Project Awards recipients: Susan Southard, winner of the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize for “Nagasaki: Life After Nuclear War,” Nikolaus Wachsmann, winner of the Mark Lynton History Prize for “KL: A History of the Nazi Concentration Camps,” and Steve Luxenberg, winner of the J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award for “Separate: A Story of Race, Ambition and the Battle That Brought Legal Segregation to America.”

In addition to presenting annual journalism awards, the Nieman Foundation regularly organizes conferences for journalists based around a central theme. The most recent of these took place in September 2016 when the Nieman Foundation organized and hosted “Power: Accountability and Abuse,” a two-day celebration of the 100th anniversary of the Pulitzer Prizes that featured Pulitzer-winning performances and discussions centered on excellence in journalism and the arts. In May 2015, the University of Chicago Institute of Politics and the Nieman Foundation co-hosted a conference in Chicago for journalists reporting on the 2016 presidential election. Nieman also hosts the Christopher J. Georges Conference on College Journalism for student journalists each spring.