Class of 1992

Browse Archives

By Date

Charles Onyango-Obbo, NF ’92, Launches News Site

Nieman Notes March 30, 2015

Charles Onyango-Obbo launched a Pan-African news site last May. The site, called Mail & Guardian Africa, seeks to bring a “deeper understanding to Africa’s possibilities and difficulties today … give voice to perspectives that both Afro-optimists and Afro-pessimists don’t want … Read more

Deb Amos, NF ’92, is recipient of 2013 duPont-Columbia Award

Nieman Notes December 19, 2013

Deb Amos, a 1992 Nieman Fellow, is among the 14 winners of the 2013 Alfred I. duPont-Columbia Awards. Amos, a correspondent for National Public Radio, and colleague Kelly McEvers will be honored for their outstanding news coverage of the bloody uprising in Syria. The Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards honor excellence in broadcast and digital journalism and were established in 1942 by Jessie Ball duPont in memory of her husband, Alfred I. duPont. Read more

Nieman Fellows honored in spring award season

Nieman Notes April 16, 2012

The work of a number of Nieman Fellows has been recognized recently with national journalism awards. Honored Niemans include Hui Siu Fun, NF ’11; Lisa Mullins, NF '10; David Jackson, NF ’09; James Causey, NF ’08; Ken Armstrong, NF ’01; and Melissa Ludtke, NF ’92. Read more

Nieman Reports Editor Melissa Ludtke, NF ’92, wins Yankee Quill Award

Nieman Notes August 13, 2010

Melissa Ludtke, editor of Nieman Reports and a 1992 Nieman Fellow, has been selected as a winner of a 2010 Yankee Quill Award. Considered to be the highest individual honor for journalists in New England, the Yankee Quill is presented annually by the Academy of New England Journalists through its partnership with the New England Society of Newspaper Editors Foundation. Read more

Deborah Amos to receive Murrow award

Nieman Notes April 16, 2010

Deborah Amos, a 1992 Nieman Fellow, will receive the Edward R. Murrow Lifetime Achievement Award/Radio Division on April 20 at Washington State University. Following the award presentation, Amos will exchange views about media ethics and responsibility in a roundtable discussion. Read more

George de Lama to Head IDB Communications Office

Nieman Notes July 30, 2009

George de Lama, a 1992 Nieman Fellow and former managing editor of the Chicago Tribune, has been appointed External Relations Advisor for the Washington, D.C.-based Inter-American Development Bank. de Lama will head the Bank’s strategic communications, congressional relations and cultural affairs office. Read more

Washington Post Taps Marcus Brauchli as New Executive Editor

Nieman Notes July 7, 2008

Marcus Brauchli, a 1992 Nieman Fellow, has been named executive editor of The Washington Post, returning him to the top ranks of American journalism less than three months after Rupert Murdoch forced him out as the Wall Street Journal's editor. Brauchli will be in charge of both the Post's print and online editions. Read more

Marcus Brauchli Quits Wall Street Journal

Nieman Notes April 22, 2008

The Wall Street Journal's top editor, Marcus Brauchli, Class of 1992, resigned on Tuesday, giving News Corp chief Rupert Murdoch an opening to further put his stamp on the newspaper he bought four months ago. "Now that the ownership transition has taken place, I have come to believe the new owners should have a managing editor of their choosing," Brauchli said in a letter to staff. Read more

  • 1
  • 2