Class of 1986

Browse Archives

By Date

Roberto Eisenmann receives lifetime achievement award

Nieman Notes May 15, 2012

Roberto Eisenmann, a 1986 Nieman Fellow and Founder of the daily "La Prensa" in Panama, was honored with a lifetime achievement award by Fundación Fórum de Periodistas por la Libertad de Expresión e Información of Panama for his continued commitment to freedom of expression and information. While a Nieman Fellow, Mr. Eisenmann was exiled from Panama due to reprisals from the Noriega regime. Read more

Nieman Fellows honored in spring award season

Nieman Notes April 16, 2012

The work of a number of Nieman Fellows has been recognized recently with national journalism awards. Honored Niemans include Hui Siu Fun, NF ’11; Lisa Mullins, NF '10; David Jackson, NF ’09; James Causey, NF ’08; Ken Armstrong, NF ’01; and Melissa Ludtke, NF ’92. Read more

Mark Ethridge Delivers VCU Turpin Lecture

Nieman Notes October 13, 2008

Mark Ethridge recently visited Virginia Commonwealth University as a guest lecturer during the school’s annual Mass Communications Week. Ethridge spoke on Oct. 9, where he talked about journalism and about his novel, Grievances. Read more