Nieman News

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. (Oct. 12, 2004) — The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University has announced the formation of a Board of Advisors that will provide counsel and support to the foundation.

“During this period of growth and challenge in the life of the Nieman Foundation, it is imperative that we draw on the experience and wisdom of leaders in journalism and long-time members of the Nieman family,” said Bob Giles, the foundation’s curator.

The following distinguished individuals from print and broadcast news, academia and consulting have agreed to serve on the board. Giles will also be a member. Sixteen of the board members, including Giles, are alumni of the Nieman Fellowship program, which brings 12 American and 12 international journalists to Harvard University each year for academic study.

  • Cecilia Alvear: producer, NBC News (Nieman Fellow 1989)
  • Brandt Ayers: chairman and publisher, The Anniston (Ala.) Star and Consolidated Publishing (Nieman Fellow 1968)
  • Fred Barnes: co-host, Fox News’ “The Beltway Boys,” and executive editor, The Weekly Standard (Nieman Fellow 1978)
  • Roberta Baskin: freelance TV producer/reporter (Nieman Fellow 2002)
  • Joseph L. Bower: Donald K. David Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School
  • Mark Carter: partner, Carter and Gilden Mediaworks (Nieman Fellow 1995)
  • Lorie Conway: documentary filmmaker and producer, Boston Film and Video Productions (Nieman Fellow 1994)
  • Jerelyn Eddings: Howard University TV, managing editor Africa programming (Nieman Fellow 1985)
  • Charles Ferguson: retired editor, The Times-Picayune, New Orleans (Nieman Fellow 1966)
  • Katherine Fulton: president, Monitor Institute (Nieman Fellow 1993)
  • Henry Louis Gates Jr.: chair, Department of African and African American Studies, and director, W. E. B. Du Bois Institute, Harvard University
  • Gigi Georges: president, The Glover Park Group New York
  • Sharon King Hoge: media consultant
  • George Irish: president, Hearst Newspapers, and senior vice president of Hearst Corporation
  • Alex S. Jones: director, Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy, Harvard University (Nieman Fellow 1982)
  • Murrey Marder: retired diplomatic correspondent, The Washington Post, and sponsor, Nieman Watchdog Project (Nieman Fellow 1950)
  • Nancy Hicks Maynard: media consultant
  • Lindsay Miller: freelance journalist, print and broadcast (Nieman Fellow 1988)
  • Gregory Moore: editor, The Denver Post
  • Burl Osborne: president, The Associated Press
  • Norman Pearlstine: editor in chief, Time Inc.
  • John Seigenthaler: founder, First Amendment Center (Nieman Fellow 1959)
  • Charles Shepard: corporate development consultant, Menasha Corp. (Nieman Fellow 1991)
  • William O. Taylor: chairman emeritus, The Boston Globe
  • William O. Wheatley Jr.: vice president of news, NBC (Nieman Fellow 1977)

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University administers the nation’s oldest midcareer fellowship program for journalists. Since 1938, more than 1,000 men and women from the United States and 76 other nations have come to Harvard as part of the fellowship program. In addition to the fellowships, the Nieman Foundation publishes Nieman Reports, the nation’s oldest magazine devoted to a critical examination of the practice of journalism. The foundation is also the home of the Nieman Program on Narrative Journalism and the Nieman Watchdog Project to encourage reporters and editors to monitor and hold accountable those who exert power in all aspects of public life.

Show comments / Leave a comment