Nieman News

Wilson F. Minor, Jackson, Miss., correspondent for The New Orleans Times-Picayune, has been selected as the third recipient of the Louis M. Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism.

The 1966 Class of Nieman Fellows, who made the selection after receiving nominations from Nieman alumni, cited Minor for “sharply perceptive investigative reporting of political and racial affairs [that] has consistently blown open the doors of a closed society.” His subjects have ranged from Ku Klux Klan’s infiltration of the State Highway Patrol to the inequities of educational funding in Mississippi.

The Nieman Fellows awarded a special citation to Ralph Nader, author of “Unsafe at any Speed,” whose thorough investigation of automobile design and safety standards was, essentially, conscientious journalism of the highest order.

Show comments / Leave a comment