Nieman News

American correspondents in Vietnam in 1963 received the first Louis M. Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism, the 1964 Class of Nieman Fellows announced on May 4, 1964.

The award was named for the retiring curator of the Nieman Fellowships for Journalism at Harvard.

The Vietnam correspondents were cited for reporting “the truth as they saw it … without yielding to unrelenting pressures … from numerous sources including the United States government.”

Singled out for specific mention were Cornelius (Neil) Sheehan of United Press International, Malcolm Browne of The Associated Press and David Halberstam of The New York Times.

A special citation added, however: “We also cited their dedicated colleagues whose courage, determination and skill helped to let the people know.”

Show comments / Leave a comment