Banner Image for Events


The Nieman Foundation hosts dozens of events at Lippmann House each year, featuring leading researchers, scientists, artists, writers, historians, economists and others who explore the world of ideas with Nieman Fellows and Foundation guests. Journalists and media experts also discuss the latest challenges and opportunities in journalism.


Cartoonists: Foot Soldiers of Democracy

Join us as political cartoonist Jeff Danziger presents and discusses the new documentary Cartoonists: Foot Soldiers of Democracy, featuring 12 cartoonists from around the world "who risk their lives to defend democracy, with a smile on their faces and a pencil as their only weapon." Jeff will discuss the verbal and visual art of cartooning and the state of political cartooning in the U.S. and abroad after the Charlie Hebdo attacks. Read more

Hasan Cemal and Turkish journalists honored at Harvard’s Nieman Foundation

Turkish journalist Hasan Cemal received the Louis M. Lyons Award for Conscience and Integrity in Journalism on March 12, 2015 at Harvard University. Nieman Fellows in the class of 2015 chose Cemal for the honor in recognition of a long career dedicated to championing freedom of the press in Turkey and as a representative of all Turkish journalists working today under increasingly difficult conditions. Read more

The ABC’s of Social Media with Sree Sreenivasan

Sree Sreenivasan, the chief digital officer of New York's Metropolitan Museum of Art, dropped by the Nieman Foundation—while on a family vacation to Boston no less—to share some of his advice and best practices for social media. Read more

2014 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence

Filmmaker Laura Poitras was the recipient of the 2014 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence, awarded each year by the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard. Amy Goodman, host and executive producer of “Democracy Now!,” also received a special I.F. Stone lifetime achievement award. Read more

2014 Joe Alex Morris Jr. Memorial Lecture

New York Times senior photographer and two-time Pulitzer winner Tyler Hicks presented the 34th Joe Alex Morris Jr. Memorial Lecture at the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard on Nov. 14, 2013. The annual lecture honors an American overseas correspondent or commentator on foreign affairs. Read more

5 Questions for Pussy Riot

Masha Alyokhina and Nadya Tolokonnikova, two founding members of Pussy Riot, a Russian punk rock collective known for its political dissent, spent almost two years in prison for “hooliganism” in connection with their performance of an anti-Putin protest song in Moscow’s Cathedral of Christ the Savior. Currently visiting the U.S., … Read more

Fellows present !nstant app at Global Editors Summit in Spain

In June 2014 at the Global Editors Network Summit in Barcelona, several 2013 Nieman Fellows presented “!nstant” an innovative new app designed to help journalists and others make sense of breaking news and live events, distilling signals from the noise posted on social media channels. Read more

2014 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards

On May 13, the J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project awards were presented to Pulitzer Prize-winning author Sheri Fink, Harvard history professor Jill Lepore, and Adrienne Berard, a 2013 graduate of the Columbia Journalism School. The three women’s works were selected as exemplary nonfiction, noted for their literary artfulness and social relevance. Read more

Latin America’s Media Innovators

In April, the Nieman Foundation and Harvard's David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies hosted a discussion about the future of Latin American media featuring some of the region's most innovative journalists: Radio Ambulante's Daniel Alarcón, Nuestra Aparente Rendición's Lolita Bosch, Fusion's Daniel Eilemberg—a 2013 Visiting Nieman Fellow who founded Mexico's Animal Politico—and El Faro's Óscar Martínez. Read more