Development Report

The Nieman Foundation is grateful to the individuals, foundations, journalism organizations and other groups that support its programs each year. Their generous gifts help fund Nieman Fellowships, journalism awards, outreach programs, conferences and other special projects that help educate journalists on campus and around the globe and help us carry out Nieman’s mission and goals.

Those who wish to make a gift to the Nieman Foundation may make a donation online or send a check payable to the Nieman Foundation:

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard
One Francis Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02138

Gifts and Grants to the Foundation

Income received during FY12 and in FY13 prior to Dec. 10, 2012.

Foundations and organizations that provided grants to support Nieman programs and fellowships:

Benigno S. Aquino, Jr. Foundation (Philippines Nieman Fellowship)

Dart Foundation (Nieman conferences and programs)

Christopher J. Georges Journalism Fund (excellence in student journalism)

Martin Wise Goodman Trust (Canadian Nieman Fellowship)

John S. and James L. Knight Foundation (Knight Latin American Nieman Fellowships and support for the Nieman Journalism Lab)

Estate of Walter Lippmann (general support for the foundation)

Morris Endowment Fund (Joe Alex Morris Jr. lecture by an American foreign correspondent)

Murrey and Frances Marder Endowment (Nieman Watchdog Project)

Taylor Family Award Fund (fairness in newspapers)

Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting (conferences and global health reporting fieldwork)

Donald W. Reynolds Foundation (Business and Community Journalism Nieman Fellowships)

Worth Bingham Memorial Fund (Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Journalism)

Grants to Support Nieman Fellowships in the Class of 2013

The Asia Society: one fellow from South Korea

The Carroll Binder Endowment: one fellow from Tunisia/Belgium

The Barry Bingham Jr. Endowment: one fellow from Morocco/Germany

The Atsuko Chiba Endowment: one fellow from Vietnam

The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation: one fellow from Chile

The William Montalbano Endowment: one fellow from Germany

The Ruth Cowan Nash Endowment: one fellow from the United Kingdom

The Nieman Society of Southern Africa: one fellow from South Africa

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation: one fellowship in community journalism and one fellowship in business journalism

Sovereign Bank and the Marco Polo Program of Banco Santander: one fellow from China

The Robert Waldo Ruhl Endowment: one fellow from France

The Louis Stark Endowment: one fellowship in labor reporting

Other Donors

Ken Armstrong (NF’01)

David Bank (NF’96)

Mary J. Barnett

Daniel Biddle (NF’90)

Thomas A. Blinkhorn (NF’68)

Christopher Bogan (NF’82)

Simeon S. (NF’51) and Carol M. Booker Jr.

Henry S. (NF’69) and Monica P. Bradsher

Helen Branswell (NF’11)

Daniel B. Brewster Jr. (NF’83)

Kevin P. (NF’73) and Gail J. Buckley

Eugene Carlson (NF’76)

Grady E. Clay (NF’49)

Lorie Conway (NF’94)

John J. Corry (NF’65)

George de Lama (NF’92)

Yuyu Dong (NF’07)

Zvi Dor-Ner (NF’77)

Marty and Carol Eckstein

Mark Ethridge (NF’86)

Charles A. Ferguson Jr. (NF’66)

Carmen Fields (NF’86)

Robert (NF ’66) and Nancy Giles

John Harwood (NF’90)

Ramona J. Hattendorf

John Herbers Jr. (NF ’61)

David Himmelstein (NF’83)

Anne Hull (NF’95)

Alex Jones (NF ’82)

Gerald Jordan (NF ’82)

Jana M. Juginovic (NF’10)

Steve H. Kagan

John Kelly (NF’99)

David Kraslow (NF’62)

Siew Ying Leu (NF’08)

David C. Lewis (NF’94)

Paul Lieberman (NF’80)

Albert Lindler (NF’84)

Ann Marie Lipinski (NF’90)

William K. (NF’83) and Diane M. Marimow

Dominic J. Massa

William F. McIlwain (NF’58)

Morton A. Mintz (NF’64)

Laura Moran

Marguerite Mulvihill (NF’05)

Patricia O’Brien (NF’74)

Takashi Oshima (NF’06)

Roy E. Reed (NF’64)

Eugene V. Risher (NF’72)

Cynthia F. Roberts

Daniel Samper (NF’81)

Jack Schwartz (NF’71)

Jennifer Sharp (NF’06)

Hedrick L. Smith (NF’70)

William Steif (NF’53)

Robert R. Timberg (NF’80)

Louis Ureneck (NF’95)

Edward Walsh (NF’82)

Walter Watson (NF’08)

Lawrence G. Weiss (NF’49)

Jing Zhao (NF’08)

NF = Nieman Fellow