The Nieman Class of 2010

Watch the slideshow below »Front row, left to right: Janet Heard, Alissa Quart, Marcela Valdes, Bob Giles (Curator), Jana Juginovic, Monica Campbell. Second row: Beth Macy, Liz Mineo, Joana Gorjão Henriques, Anita Snow, Audra Ang, Alejandra Matus, Lisa Mullins. Third row: Kevin Sites, Gary Knight, Shankar Vedantam, Maria Balinska, Martha Bebinger, Boris Muñoz, Hopewell Rugoho-Chin’ono, James Reynolds. Not pictured: Ibrahim Barzaq and Jeff Howe.

Audra Ang (China), correspondent, The Associated Press. Ang is the Atsuko Chiba Nieman Fellow. Her fellowship honors the memory of Atsuko Chiba, a 1968 Nieman Fellow.
Maria Balinska (United Kingdom), editor, World Current Affairs Radio, BBC, is the Ruth Cowan Nash Nieman Fellow. Nash was a trailblazer for women in journalism, best known for her work as an Associated Press war correspondent during World War II.
Ibrahim Barzaq (Palestinian Territories), correspondent, The Associated Press, is the Barry Bingham Jr. Nieman Fellow. Bingham, a 1956 Harvard graduate, was the editor and publisher of the Courier-Journal and Louisville Times in Louisville, Kentucky.
Martha Bebinger, state house reporter, WBUR in Boston.
Monica Campbell, a freelance journalist based in San Francisco, is the Louis Stark Nieman Fellow. The Stark fellowship honors the memory of the New York Times reporter who was a pioneer in the field of labor reporting.
Janet Heard (South Africa), executive editor, Weekend Argus. Her fellowship is supported by the Nieman Society of Southern Africa.
Joana Gorjão Henriques (Portugal), deputy editor, Público. Her fellowship is funded by the Luso-American Foundation and the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation.
Jeff Howe, contributing editor, Wired magazine.
Jana Juginovic (Canada), director of news and programming, CTV News Channel and executive producer, CTV News Specials, is the Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellow. Goodman was a 1962 Nieman Fellow.
Gary Knight (United Kingdom), photographer and editor, VII Photo Agency and Dispatches Quarterly, is the Carroll Binder Nieman Fellow. The Binder Fund honors Carroll Binder, a 1916 Harvard graduate who built up the Chicago Daily News Foreign Service, and his son, Carroll “Ted” Binder, Harvard Class of 1943. Ted intended a career in journalism but was shot down during World War II as a navigator in the U.S. Army Air Corps.
Beth Macy, families beat reporter, The Roanoke Times.
Alejandra Matus (Chile), freelance journalist for The Clinic, Paula magazine, Terra magazine and The Miami Herald is a John S. and James L. Knight Foundation Latin American Nieman Fellow.
Liz Mineo, reporter, The MetroWest Daily News in Framingham, Mass., is the Donald W. Reynolds Nieman Fellow in Community Journalism.
Lisa Mullins, anchor/senior producer, Public Radio International’s “The World.”
Boris Muñoz (Venezuela), editor in chief, Exceso magazine, is a John S. and James L. Knight Foundation Latin American Nieman Fellow.
Alissa Quart, author, contributing editor/columnist, Columbia Journalism Review, and contributing writer, Mother Jones.
James Reynolds (United Kingdom), China correspondent, BBC News.
Hopewell Rugoho-Chin’ono (Zimbabwe), documentary film director/news producer, Television International, Zimbabwe, is a Nieman Fellow in Global Health Reporting. His fellowship is funded in part by the Robert Waldo Ruhl Fund. A 1903 Harvard graduate, Ruhl was editor and publisher of the Medford Mail-Tribune in Oregon from 1910-1967.
Kevin Sites, freelance multimedia journalist and author based in Los Angeles.
Anita Snow, Havana bureau chief, The Associated Press.
Marcela Valdes, a freelance writer from Annapolis, Md., is the 2010 Arts and Culture Nieman Fellow.
Shankar Vedantam, national science reporter, The Washington Post.

This slideshow requires JavaScript and the Flash Player. Get Flash.