Board Members


President: William O. Wheatley, Jr.
Retired executive vice president, NBC News (1977 Nieman Fellow)

Vice President: Lorie Conway
Documentary filmmaker and producer, Boston Film & Video Productions
(1994 Nieman Fellow)

Secretary: Joseph L. Bower
Baker Foundation Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School

Board Members

Cecilia Alvear, Executive Committee Member

Independent multimedia producer. Former president, National Association of Hispanic Journalists and retired NBC Network News producer (1989 Nieman Fellow)

Rosental Alves
Professor and Knight Chair in Journalism and UNESCO Chair in Communication, University of Texas at Austin’s School of Journalism; Director, Knight Center for Journalism in the Americas (1988 Nieman Fellow)

H. Brandt Ayers
Chairman and publisher, The Anniston Star and Consolidated Publishing (1968 Nieman Fellow)

Gregory Brock
Senior editor/standards, The New York Times (1994 Nieman Fellow)

John Carroll
Former editor, Los Angeles Times and The Baltimore Sun (1972 Nieman Fellow)

Ambassador Carolyn Curiel
Chief of staff to president and clinical professor of communication, Purdue University

Thomas (Mac) Deford

Jerelyn Eddings
Program Director, International Center for Journalists (1985 Nieman Fellow)

Thomas Eisenmann
William J. Abernathy Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School

Mark Ethridge, Executive Committee Member
President, Carolina Parenting Magazines (1986 Nieman Fellow)

Charles Ferguson
Retired editor, The Times-Picayune (1966 Nieman Fellow)

Paula Fray
Regional director for Africa, Inter Press Service (2001 Nieman Fellow)

Sam Fulwood III
Senior fellow at the Center for American Progress (1994 Nieman Fellow)

Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Alphonse Fletcher University Professor; Director, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research, Harvard University

Gigi Georges
Partner, The Glover Park Group

Robert Giles, Executive Committee Member
Curator, Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University (1966 Nieman Fellow)

Tim Golden
Senior Writer, The New York Times (1996 Nieman Fellow)

John Harwood
Chief Washington correspondent, CNBC, and political writer, The New York Times (1990 Nieman Fellow)

Sharon King Hoge
Media consultant

George Irish
Eastern Director, Hearst Foundation

Alex Jones
Director, Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy: Laurence M. Lombard Lecturer in the Press and Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School (1982 Nieman Fellow)

Rami Khouri
Editor-at-large, The Daily Star, Beirut, Lebanon; Director, Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs, American University of Beirut (2002 Nieman Fellow)

Katie King
Editor, MSN UK (1994 Nieman Fellow)

Murrey Marder
Retired chief diplomatic correspondent, The Washington Post, and sponsor of the Nieman Watchdog Project, (1950 Nieman Fellow)

Lindsay Miller, Executive Committee Member
Freelance writer/editor (1988 Nieman Fellow)

Gregory Moore
Editor, The Denver Post

Emily O’Reilly
Ombudsman and Information Commissioner for Ireland (1988 Nieman Fellow)

Tom Regan
Principal editor of (1992 Nieman Fellow)

Norman Robinson
News anchor/reporter, WDSU-TV (1989 Nieman Fellow)

John Seigenthaler
Founder, The First Amendment Center (1959 Nieman Fellow)

Michael Skoler, Executive Committee Member
Donald W. Reynolds Fellow, Missouri School of Journalism. Former executive director, American Public Media’s Center for Innovation in Journalism and the founder of Public Insight Journalism. (1993 Nieman Fellow)

Ernie Suggs
Civil Rights and Race Reporter, The Atlanta Journal Constitution (2009 Nieman Fellow)

Lou Ureneck
Chair, Department of Journalism, Boston University’s School of Communications (1995 Nieman Fellow)

The Nieman Foundation is grateful for the dedicated service of the board members who stepped down this year: Roberta Baskin, Mark Carter, Katherine Fulton and Charles Shepard.