Board Members

Front row: Jennifer 8. Lee, William Wheatley, Jr., Gigi Georges, Joseph Bower, Tom Regan; Second row: John Harwood, Lorie Conway, Sam Fulwood III, Cecilia Alvear, Ann Marie Lipinski, Margaret Engel, Mark Ethridge; Third row: George de Lama, Gregory Brock, Thomas Deford, Lou Ureneck, Alex Jones, Nicco Mele

Not pictured:
Rosental Alves, Carolyn Curiel, Paula Fray, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Tim Golden, Rami Khouri, Katie King, Lindsay Miller, Emily O’Reilly, Norman Robinson, Michael Skoler, Ernie Suggs


President: William O. Wheatley, Jr.
Retired executive vice president, NBC News (1977 Nieman Fellow)

Vice President: Lorie Conway
Documentary filmmaker and producer (1994 Nieman Fellow)

Secretary: Joseph L. Bower
Baker Foundation Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School


Cecilia Alvear
Independent multimedia producer. Former president, National Association of Hispanic Journalists and retired NBC Network News producer (1989 Nieman Fellow)

Rosental Alves
Professor & Knight Chair in Journalism & UNESCO Chair in Communication, University of Texas, Austin; Director, Knight Center for Journalism in the Americas (1988 Nieman Fellow)

Gregory Brock
Senior editor, The New York Times (1994 Nieman Fellow)

Ambassador Carolyn Curiel
Chief of staff to the president and clinical professor of communication, Purdue University

Thomas (Mac) Deford

George de Lama
External relations advisor, Inter-American Development Bank (1992 Nieman Fellow)

Margaret Engel

Director, Alicia Patterson Foundation (1979 Nieman Fellow)

Mark Ethridge
President, Carolina Parenting Magazines (1986 Nieman Fellow)

Paula Fray
Regional director for Africa, Inter Press Service (2001 Nieman Fellow)

Sam Fulwood
Reporter, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress (1994 Nieman Fellow)

Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Alphonse Fletcher University Professor; Director, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research, Harvard University

Gigi Georges
Program director, Innovation Strategies Initiative at the Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation, Harvard Kennedy School

Tim Golden
Senior writer, The New York Times (1996 Nieman Fellow)

John Harwood
Chief Washington correspondent, CNBC, and political writer, The New York Times (1990 Nieman Fellow)

Alex Jones
Director, Joan Shorenstein Center on Press, Politics and Public Policy: Laurence M. Lombard Lecturer in the Press and Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School (1982 Nieman Fellow)

Rami Khouri
Editor-at-large, The Daily Star, Beirut, Lebanon; Director, Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs, American University of Beirut (2002 Nieman Fellow)

Katie King

Senior product manager, portal & partnerships at Microsoft/MSN UK (1994 Nieman Fellow)

Jennifer 8. Lee
Journalist, author and consultant

Ann Marie Lipinski
Curator, Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard (1990 Nieman Fellow)

Nicco Mele
Adjunct lecturer in public policy, Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School

Lindsay M. Miller

Independent producer of print and broadcast (1988 Nieman Fellow)

Emily O’Reilly
Ombudsman and Information Commissioner for Ireland (1988 Nieman Fellow)

Tom Regan
Principal editor, (1992 Nieman Fellow)

Norman Robinson
News anchor/reporter, WDSU-TV (1989 Nieman Fellow)

Michael Skoler
Vice president, interactive media at Public Radio International (PRI) (1993 Nieman Fellow)

Ernie Suggs
Civil rights and race reporter, The Atlanta Journal Constitution (2009 Nieman Fellow)

Lou Ureneck
Journalism professor, Boston University’s College of Communication (1995 Nieman Fellow)

Emeritus Member
Murrey Marder
Retired chief diplomatic correspondent, The Washington Post, and sponsor of the Nieman Watchdog Project, (1950 Nieman Fellow)

The Nieman Foundation is grateful for the many contributions made by John Carroll, Tom Eisenmann and Nieman curator Bob Giles, who all finished their service to the board this past year.