Niemans in the News

  1. Edwin O. Guthman dies at 89 - September 1

    Edwin O. Guthman, 89, a Pulitzer Prize-winning newsman respected for his unwavering integrity and whose storied career included stints as a soldier, a public servant, an educator, and editor of The Inquirer's editorial pages, died Sunday at his home in Los Angeles. He was a member of the Class of 1951.

  2. Jack Landau Dies at 74 - August 9

    Jack Landau, 74, an early leader of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, died Aug. 9 of complications from emphysema. Landau, a reporter-lawyer covering the U.S. Supreme Court for Newhouse News Service, was known for his passionate advocacy of legal rights for journalists. He was a member of the Class of 1968.

  3. 2008 Lovejoy Award Recipient Anne Hull - August 5

    Anne Hull, a national enterprise reporter for The Washington Post who reported the story that exposed the Walter Reed Army Medical Center neglect scandal in 2007 and has spent her career telling the stories of the voiceless and the vulnerable, will receive the 2008 Elijah Parish Lovejoy Award from Colby College. She was a member of the Class of 1995.
    Read more »

  4. Maynard: 'Give All Front Door Access to the Truth' - July 31

    Dori Maynard, Class of 1993, became the first woman to join her father Robert C. Maynard as a Nieman Fellow. Maynard is on the front lines continuing the fight for the cause her father began 30 years ago: providing opportunities for minority journalists in newspapers. Her father was a member of the Class of 1966.
    Read more on Poynter Online »

  5. NABJ Honors Five Niemans with 2008 Salute to Excellence Award - July 28

    Five Nieman Fellows were among the 2008 recipients of the National Association of Black Journalists' Salute to Excellence Awards. The annual awards recognize exemplary coverage of the African and African-American experience by the nation’s print and electronic media.

  6. Editor Who Shaped Chicago Tribune Steps Down - July 14

    Ann Marie Lipinski, 30 summers after she arrived at the Chicago Tribune for what was supposed to be a three-month internship and seven years after becoming its first female editor, announced her resignation from the newspaper she called "the love of my life." Lipinski was a member of the Class of 1990.
    Read more from »

  7. Seattle Times Reporters Awarded National Journalism Prize - July 13

    Seattle Times investigative reporter David Heath, Class of 2006, and colleague Hal Bernton have won the national Clark Mollenhoff Award for Excellence in Investigative Reporting for their series "The Favor Factory." The award is presented by the Institute on Political Journalism (IPJ) and comes with a $10,000 prize.

    Watch "Mr. Heath Goes to Washington" on PBS' "Exposé"
    Read more »

  8. Colombia Leader Calls Ransom Story ‘Absolutely False’ - July 7

    Colombian authorities sought over the weekend to discredit a Swiss academic and former intermediary in talks with a left-wing rebel group who has been linked to a disputed report that officials paid $20 million for last week's release of 15 high-profile hostages. Defence Minister Juan Manuel Santos, Class of 1988, strongly denied any foreign nationals had taken part in the operation.
    Read more from The Los Angeles Times »

  9. Washington Post Taps Marcus Brauchli as New Executive Editor - July 7

    Marcus Brauchli, a 1992 Nieman Fellow, has been named executive editor of The Washington Post, returning him to the top ranks of American journalism less than three months after Rupert Murdoch forced him out as the Wall Street Journal's editor. Brauchli will be in charge of both the Post's print and online editions.
    Read more »

  10. Guy Raz Wins 2008 Edward R. Murrow Award - July 1

    Guy Raz, NPR Defense Correspondent and member of the Class of 2009, was honored with the 2008 Edward R. Murrow Awards for “Rescuing the Wounded: Iraq to Germany.” This three-part series tracked the medical care of a wounded American soldier: from the battlefield, to the trauma ward in Balad, Iraq, and finally to the Army Hospital in Landstuhl, Germany.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19
  20. 20
  21. 21
  22. 22
  23. 23
  24. 24
  25. 25
  26. 26
  27. 27
  28. 28
  29. 29
  30. 30
  31. 31
  32. 32
  33. 33
  34. 34
  35. 35
  36. 36