Niemans in the News

  1. Noblet, former AP business editor, to join Dow Jones - December 16

    Kevin Noblet, a 1991 Nieman Fellow, will join Dow Jones as Deputy Managing Editor for Wealth Management. "Kevin’s extensive experience in news management, top-level editing and recruiting and training will be a valuable asset," said Brian Cronk, the managing editor of wealth management at Dow Jones Newswires.
    Read more »

  2. The Knight Center launches the book 'How to write for the web' - December 12

    “How to Write for the Web” — a book by Guillermo Franco, a 2005 Nieman Fellow and digital journalist in Colombia — was published in December 2008 by the Knight Center for Journalism in the Americas at The University of Texas.

    This Spanish-language book about journalism and the Web, available free as a PDF download, includes contributions from reporters and editors throughout Latin America, some of whom have launched a Facebook discussion group of the same name.
    Read the press release »

  3. David Heath wins Everett McKinley Dirksen Award - December 8

    David Heath and Seattle Times colleague Hal Bernton won the 2008 Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Coverage of Congress for their multi-platform series “The Favor Factory.” The Times series linked earmarked votes by Seattle-area lawmakers to campaign contributions. Heath was a member of the Class of 2006.

  4. JSU names former Star editor Waddle Ayers Chair of Communications - December 5

    Jacksonville State University recently named former Star editor and veteran journalist Chris Waddle its Ayers Chair of Communications. "I have been a teacher all my career in a sense that every editor shares his or her talent with people who are coming up in the industry," Waddle said. "And teaching on campus is a more formalized way to do that." He was a member of the Class of 2005.
    Read more »

  5. Marilyn Geewax joins National Public Radio - December 4

    Marilyn Geewax, Class of 1995,  will join National Public Radio’s National Desk as the new Senior Business Editor starting Dec. 15. She previously was the national economics correspondent for Cox Newspapers’ Washington Bureau.

  6. Guy Raz named Daniel Schorr Journalism Prize Winner - November 19

    National Public Radio defense correspondent Guy Raz was selected as winner of the 2008 Daniel Schorr Journalism Prize for a three-part series entitled "Rescuing the Wounded: Iraq to Germany" which aired on NPR's “Morning Edition” and “All Things Considered” in October 2007. The Daniel Schorr Journalism Prize highlights a new generation of public radio journalists and seeks to inspire them to stretch the boundaries of the medium. Raz is a member of the Class of 2009.
    Read more »

  7. Ronke Olawale wins Nigerian National Media Merit Award - November 17

    Ronke Olawale was honored with a Nigerian National Media Merit Award. Olawale, who is a member of the Class of 2009, received the Ernest Sisei Ikoli Prize for Newspaper Reporter of the Year. The Nigerian Media Merit Award was established in 1990 to encourage and foster positive development of media practice in Nigeria and the promotion of excellence amongst media practitioners in different fields throughout the federation.

  8. SNPA honors Victoria Advocate - November 5

    The Victoria Advocate recently won a variety of honors from the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association (SNPA): first place for its front page; first place for best use of multimedia; second place in the Carmage Walls Commentary Award; and third place for best local story. The Advocate also earned recognition for the best front page from the Inland Press Association. Chris Cobler, a member of the class of 2006, has been editor of the Advocate since June 2007.

  9. Benton directs launch of Nieman Journalism Lab - October 27

    The Nieman Foundation's newest Web publication — the Nieman Journalism Lab — launched Monday, Oct. 27 under the direction of Joshua Benton. As a reporter and blogger with long experience online, Benton will help identify ways journalists can improve their work, newsrooms can change their cultures, and news organizations can find ways to prosper. He was a member of the Class of 2008.
    Visit the site »

  10. Carolyn Curiel to join Purdue - October 16

    Carolyn Curiel, a former White House speechwriter, U.S. ambassador and most recently a member of The New York Times editorial board, has been appointed as senior adviser in the office of the Purdue president and as a clinical professor of communication. She is a member of the Nieman Foundation Advisory Board.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19
  20. 20
  21. 21
  22. 22
  23. 23
  24. 24
  25. 25
  26. 26
  27. 27
  28. 28
  29. 29
  30. 30
  31. 31
  32. 32
  33. 33
  34. 34
  35. 35