Niemans in the News

  1. The Overseas Press Club honors four Niemans - April 24

    Four Nieman Fellows were among those honored with awards by the Overseas Press Club award program: Jeb Sharp, Dexter Filkins, Amy Goldstein, and Alma Guillermoprieto. Read more »

  2. Pulitzer announcement includes three fellows - April 21

    The 2009 Pulitzer Awards were announced Monday, April 20, and three Nieman Fellows were among those honored: Eugene Robinson, Amy Nutt, and Amy Goldstein. Read more »

  3. Nokes to publish book on the 1887 massacre of Chinese gold miners - April 21

    R. Gregory Nokes, a 1972 Nieman Fellow, will have his book, "Massacred for Gold, The Chinese in Hells Canyon,'' published in October by Oregon State University Press. The book is the first authoritative account of the long-forgotten 1887 massacre of as many as 34 Chinese gold miners in Oregon's Hells Canyon. Read more »

  4. Jeb Sharp's investigative series wins Dart award - April 16

    The five-part investigative series by 2006 Nieman Fellow Jeb Sharp, “Rape as a Weapon of War,” was among the recipients of the 2009 Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma.  The series, produced for Public Radio International’s “The World,” examines the brutality of sexual violence in conflict zones and the medical, humanitarian, legal, and political response to it.
    Read more (PDF) »

  5. Documentary produced by Mary Ann Jolley wins 'Grand Award' - April 16

    The documentary "Jihad Sheilas," produced by Mary Ann Jolley, a 2006 Nieman Fellow, won the 'Grand Award' for Best News/Documentary at this year's New
    York Festivals Television Programming and Promotions Awards. The film, which traces the journey of two Australian women from the conservative heartland of regional Australia into the maelstrom of fundamentalist Islam, was also produced by Renata Gombac and Deborah Masters. Read more about the awards »

  6. Amy Ellis Nutt Recieves 2008 Sigma Delta Chi Award - April 13

    The Society of Professional Journalists announced the recipients of the 2008 Sigma Delta Chi Awards for excellence in journalism on Monday, April 13. Amy Ellis Nutt, a 2005 Fellow, was honored for her feature article, “The Accidental Artist” in The (N.J.) Star-Ledger. Read a full list of recipients »

  7. Biographer Chronicles Perkins, 'New Deal' Pioneer - April 1

    Kirstin Downey, a 2001 Nieman Fellow, recently spoke with NPR's Jacki Lyden on "All Things Considered" about her new biography, “The Woman Behind the New Deal: The Life of Francis Perkins: FDR’s Secretary of Labor and His Moral Conscience.” Perkins was the first woman named to a U.S. president's Cabinet and as FDR's Secretary of Labor, she worked to establish Social Security. Listen to the interview »

  8. Texas Daily Newspaper Assn. Honors Cobler - March 30

    Chris Cobler, a 2006 Nieman Fellow, recently received the Editorial Achievement Award from the Texas Daily Newspaper Association at its annual convention. The award recognizes "courage and commitment to the newsroom and leadership in the community in advocating and pursuing openness and accessibility to government." Cobler also was recently elected to the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas board of directors. Read more (PDF) »

  9. The National Book Critics Circle honors Filkins' "The Forever War" - March 13

    "The Forever War," a book reporting on the conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan by Dexter Filkins, was awarded The National Book Critics Circle prize for general nonfiction. The National Book Critics Circle Award is presented annually for the finest books and reviews published in English. Filkins was a 2007 Nieman Fellow.
    Learn more about the 2008 award winners »

  10. David Jackson wins Studs Terkel Community Media Award - March 10

    David Jackson, a 2009 Nieman Fellow and reporter for the Chicago Tribune, was chosen as a recipient of the 2009 Studs Terkel Community Media Award. Presented annually, the awards honor outstanding media professionals for excellence in covering and reflecting Chicago's diverse communities.
    Learn more about David Jackson »
    Learn more about the award »

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19
  20. 20
  21. 21
  22. 22
  23. 23
  24. 24
  25. 25
  26. 26
  27. 27
  28. 28
  29. 29
  30. 30
  31. 31
  32. 32
  33. 33
  34. 34
  35. 35