Niemans in the News

  1. New website promises to be Canadian version of Politico - November 30

    James Baxter, a 2008 Nieman Fellow, this week launched, Canada's answer to Politico. Featuring political coverage on policy, departmental news and inside scoops from Parliament Hill, includes original reporting from eight full-time journalists. Read more »

  2. CPJ honors J.S. Tissainayagam - November 24

    Outstanding journalists at the forefront of the battle for press freedom were honored Tuesday, Nov. 24 at the Committee to Protect Journalists' 20th Annual International Press Freedom Awards benefit dinner. Among those honored was J.S. (Tissa) Tissainayagam, a formerly imprisoned Sri Lankan journalist who was given a CPJ International Press Freedom Award in 2009, received his award in person. Tissainayagam is a 2011 Nieman Fellow. Read more »

    Read Tissa's remarks »

    Read more about Tissa's imprisonment »

  3. Roanoke Times reporter Beth Macy, missionaries escape chaotic region - November 18

    Roanoke Times reporter Beth Macy and a team of medical missionaries she's been following in Haiti fled rioting in the cholera-stricken northern region of the country, passing through fiery roadblocks and machete-wielding thugs on the way. Macy is a 2010 Nieman Fellow. Read more »

  4. The New Age announces new editor - October 29

    Henry Jeffreys, a 2005 Nieman Fellow, was recently announced as the new editor of The New Age newspaper, following the controversial walkout of the fledgling newspaper's top five editors. Jeffreys is well-respected as the former editor of Cape Town daily Die Burger, and former deputy and political editor of the Johannesburg daily Beeld, where he started his career in the 1980s. Read more »

  5. Veteran Civil Rights Reporter Simeon Booker Receives CBC 2010 Phoenix Award - October 17

    Veteran civil rights reporter, Simeon Booker, told the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Awards Dinner, “our struggle is far from over,” as he accepted the organization’s 2010 Phoenix Award for lifetime achievement. The annual Phoenix Awards are presented to those whom have made significant contributions to society, and symbolizing the immortality of the human spirit and an eternal desire to reach its full potential. Booker is a 1951 Nieman Fellow. Read more »

  6. Former ‘Oklahoman’ Top Editor Jim Standard Dies - October 13

    Jim Standard, former top editor of The Oklahoman, died Oct. 12, 2010, in Oklahoma City. He was 70. During his time with the paper he was named Oklahoma Newsman of the Year, spent much of his free time with journalistic and civic organizations, and was a frequent public speaker and lecturer. He was a 1970 Nieman Fellow. Read more »

  7. Hollman Morris wins Nuremberg International Human Rights Award - October 4

    Hollman Morris, a 2011 Nieman Fellow, has been chosen as the 2011 recipient of the Nuremberg International Human Rights Award. The award, presented every two years,“is intended to contribute towards the observance and implementation of Human Rights as a universal and indivisible principle.” Read more »

  8. Wallace Turner, Pulitzer prize-winning reporter, dies at 89 - September 29

    Wallace Turner, who shared a Pulitzer Prize for exposing corruption in Portland, Ore., and who later illuminated the inner workings of the Mormon Church while covering the American West for The New York Times, died Sept. 18. He was 89 and a 1959 Nieman Fellow. Read more »

  9. Alfredo Corchado accepts Elijah Parish Lovejoy award - September 27

    Alfredo Corchado, a 2009 Nieman Fellow, received the 2010 Elijah Lovejoy Award in a ceremony at Colby College on Sunday, Sept. 26. Corchado said he would accept the award, but “on behalf of the love I feel for my profession and the enormous respect and admiration I have for those reporting in the line of fire,” especially his colleagues in Mexico. Read more »

    Read a transcript of his speech »

  10. Margie Mason among winners of 2010 Science in Society Journalism Awards - September 20

    Margie Mason, a 2009 Nieman Global Health Fellow, was among the 2010 recipients of the Science in Society Journalism Awards. Mason and Martha Mendoza won in the Science Reporting category for their Associated Press series "When Drugs Stop Working." The National Association of Science Writers established the Science in Society awards to provide recognition for investigative or interpretive reporting about the sciences and their impact on society. Read more »

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19
  20. 20
  21. 21
  22. 22
  23. 23
  24. 24
  25. 25
  26. 26
  27. 27
  28. 28
  29. 29
  30. 30
  31. 31
  32. 32
  33. 33
  34. 34
  35. 35
  36. 36