Niemans in the News

  1. Dorothy Parvaz, NF ’09, detained in Syria - May 2

    Journalist Dorothy Parvaz, a 2009 Nieman Fellow who works for Al Jazeera, has been detained in Syria. No one has heard from her since she landed in Damascus on a flight from Doha, Qatar, on Friday, April 29, but Syrian officials have informed Al Jazeera that they are holding her.

    A spokesman for the news organization said: “We are concerned for Dorothy’s safety and wellbeing. We are requesting full cooperation from the Syrian authorities to determine how she was processed at the airport and what her current location is. We want her returned to us immediately.”

  2. Alma Guillermoprieto honored with Overseas Press Club Award - April 28

    Alma Guillermoprieto, a 2005 Nieman Fellow, and Shaul Schwartz were among the recipients of the 72nd Overseas Press Club Awards. The pair earned the Ed Cunningham Award for Print Journalism for their National Geographic piece “Troubled Spirits.” Learn more »

  3. Joe Latakgomo appointed the new Public Editor for Avusa Media - April 27

    Joe Latakgomo, one of South Africa’s most respected journalists, has been appointed the new Public Editor for Avusa Media, acting as the readers’ representative for the group’s newspaper titles. Latakgomo, a 1991 Nieman Fellow, takes the reins from Thabo Leshilo, a 2009 Nieman Fellow. Read more »

  4. Joe Thloloe receives honorary doctorate in law - April 22

    Joe Thloloe, NF '89 and chair of this year's South Africa Nieman selection committee, has received an honorary doctorate in law from Rhodes University. He was recognized as "a long-standing anti-apartheid activist who endured much for his involvement in the cause and a public intellectual for whom ethical concerns are uppermost." Thloloe currently serves as the South African press ombudsman.

    Read more »

    Read Thloloe's full graduation speech and the citation »

  5. Kevin Cullen Among Winners of DART Awards - April 18

    Kevin Cullen, a 2003 Nieman Fellow, was part of The Boston Globe team that won a Dart Award for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma. Established in 1995, the annual Dart Awards recognize outstanding reporting that portrays traumatic events with accuracy, insight and sensitivity while illustrating the effects of trauma on victims’ lives and the process of recovery from emotional trauma.

  6. Pulitzer Prize for Feature Writing: Amy Ellis Nutt - April 18

    Only one of seven crew members survived the sudden sinking of the Lady Mary, a scallop boat, in March 2009. Reporter Amy Ellis Nutt, NF ’05, spent seven months unraveling clues, and in November 2010, her five-part series, “The Wreck of the Lady Mary,” appeared on the front page of the Star-Ledger and on its website, where it featured photographs and video by her colleague Andre Malok. Nutt was awarded the 2011 Pulitzer Prize for Feature Writing. Current Nieman Fellow Tony Bartelme, projects reporter with The Post and Courier in Charleston, South Carolina, was a finalist in this category, as was the Chicago Tribune’s Mary Schmich, NF ’96, for commentary. See the full list of winners »

  7. Brent Walth Joins WW as News Editor - April 15

    Brent Walth, an award-winning investigative reporter for The Oregonian, has been hired to be managing news editor for Willamette (Portland, Ore.) Week. Walth is a 2006 Nieman Fellow.


  8. Nieman Fellows examine Latin American journalism - April 8

    Several Nieman Fellows contributed to the latest issue of ReVista: Harvard Review of Latin America, published by the David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies. The new magazine focuses on “Journalism of the Americas” and features articles by Mónica Almeida NF ’09, Rosental Alves NF ’88, Alfredo Corchado NF ’09, Bob Giles NF ’66, Juanita León NF ’07, Graciela Mochkofsky NF ’09 and Raúl Peñaranda U. NF ’08. Read more »

  9. Defending Freedom of the Press - April 6

    Documentary filmmaker Michael Kirk, NF ’80, who produced 60 Frontline investigations and won two Peabody awards, was selected to receive the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication’s First Amendment Award at its conference in August. Former New York Times columnist and two-time Pulitzer winner Anthony Lewis, NF ’57, will be given the Louis P. and Evelyn Smith First Amendment Award from the Ford Hall Forum at Suffolk University in Boston this month.

  10. Ah, To Be a Fellow Again! - April 1

    Mary C. Curtis, NF ’06, is one of the 24 inaugural social media fellows chosen by the Kiplinger Program in Public Affairs Journalism. Nearly 600 journalists applied for this three-month fellowship. It includes a week of strategic hands-on training and exploration of emerging news models before coaching begins on social media projects of their choice. Based in Charlotte, N.C., Curtis is a correspondent for AOL’s and contributes to National Public Radio, and Nieman Watchdog.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19
  20. 20
  21. 21
  22. 22
  23. 23
  24. 24
  25. 25
  26. 26
  27. 27
  28. 28
  29. 29
  30. 30
  31. 31
  32. 32
  33. 33
  34. 34
  35. 35