Back to List »

2006 Christopher Georges Conference On College Journalism

Apr 7, 2006 to Apr 8, 2006

2006 Christopher Georges Conference On College Journalism


John S. Carroll
(1972 Nieman Fellow) is the Knight Visiting Lecturer at the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics & Public Policy at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government.

Mary C. Curtis (2006 Nieman Fellow) is executive features editor and features columnist at The Charlotte (N.C.) Observer.

Dan Froomkin is deputy editor of He also writes the White House Briefing column for, a daily, annotated collection of White House-related items from major newspaper, magazine and broadcast Web sites and weblogs.

Dan Golden covers education for The Wall Street Journal and is deputy bureau chief of its Boston bureau.

Ellen Hume is the founding director of the Center on Media and Society at the University of Massachusetts Boston, where she teaches courses analyzing the relationship of journalism to politics and public policy.

Renee Loth was appointed editor of the editorial page of The Boston Globe in May 2000, after serving as deputy editor for six years.

Alan Murray is assistant managing editor and a columnist at The Wall Street Journal.

Stephan E. Savoia, a two-time Pulitzer Prize winner, Savoia was the lead photographer on the AP photo team that won the 1993 Pulitzer Prize for feature photography. He also shared in the AP's 1999 Pulitzer Prize for feature photography.

Amy Waldman joined The Atlantic Monthly in February 2006 as a Los Angeles-based national correspondent.

Brent Walth (2006 Nieman Fellow) is a senior investigative reporter with The Oregonian of Portland, Ore.

Invited Newspapers:
  • Brown Daily Herald (Staff page)
  • Columbia Spectator (Staff page)
  • The Cornell Daily Sun (Staff page)
  • The Dartmouth (Staff page)
  • The Harvard Crimson (co-host) (Staff page)
  • The Daily Pennsylvanian (Staff page)
  • The Daily Princetonian (Staff page)
  • The Mass Media (UMass-Boston) (Staff page)
  • The Wellesley News (Staff page)
  • Yale Daily News (Staff page)