2011 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards
May 4, 2011
The 2011 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards were presented at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism on May 4. Watch the award presentation and a panel discussion on C-SPAN's Book TV with winners Isabel Wilkerson, who received the Lynton Prize for History for her book "The Warmth of Other Suns" and Alex Tizon, who received the Work-in-Progress Award for his book "Big Little Man." Eliza Griswold, NF '07, received the Lukas Book Award for her book "The Tenth Parallel" but was on assignment and unable to attend the event.

Historian Taylor Branch was master of ceremonies moderator for the panel discussion.



2010 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards
May 4, 2010

In a panel discussion, the 2010 Lukas Prize winners David Finkel, James Davidson and Jonathan Schuppe talked about their work and their writing styles. Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist Ellen Goodman moderated the event.

View a slideshow of the event »



Jane Mayer and George Packer on BlogTalkRadio
April 30, 2009

The J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project and the Columbia Journalism School presented a conversation on BlogTalkRadio between celebrated New Yorker writers Jane Mayer and George Packer.

Mayer's latest book, "The Dark Side: Inside Story of How the War on Terror Turned Into a War on American Ideals," won the 2009 J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize

Packer, a former judge for the Lukas Book Prize, is the author most recently of "The Assassin's Gate: America in Iraq." His new book, "Interesting Times: Writings from a Turbulent Decade" is coming out this fall.

Both Mayer and Packer write frequently for The New Yorker.

Listen to their conversation moderated by CJS Dean of Student Affairs Sree Sreenivasan.

Download the MP3 and listen to more conversations from the J-School.



C-SPAN Video: 2008 J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards
May 13, 2008

In a panel discussion broadcast on C-SPAN, the 2008 Lukas Prize winners Jeffrey Toobin, Peter Silver and Michelle Goldberg talked about their work and their writing styles. Patricia Limerick, Faculty Director and Chair of the Board of the Center of the American West at the University of Colorado, moderated the event.