I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence

Established in 2008, the I.F. Stone Medal recognizes journalistic independence and honors the life of investigative journalist I.F. Stone.

The award is presented annually to a journalist whose work captures the spirit of independence, integrity, courage and indefatigability that characterized I.F. Stone’s Weekly, published 1953-1971.

For more information on I.F. Stone, visit

Learn more about the 2013 I.F. Stone Medal winner, investigative reporter Jane Mayer.

Nomination Process
An advisory committee of journalists oversees nominations and the selection of an annual medal winner. The committee is chaired by Bill Kovach, former curator of the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard and founding chairman of the Committee of Concerned Journalists.

An endowment fund for the I.F. Stone Medal, with an anonymous matching gift of $100,000, has been established at Harvard University.

Donations toward a goal of $200,000 can be made through the Nieman Foundation by sending a check to the address below, or by using the Harvard University giving site.

I.F Stone Project Endowment
The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard
One Francis Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02138